Ohio GED Requirements and Online Classes

The state of Ohio uses the fully computerized GED® exam for its HSE (high school equivalency) testing program but additionally welcomed two alternative test, the TASC, and HiSET, for this purpose. Testing takes place at a level that compares to that of graduating high school seniors.

Ohio GED Online Prep

The Covcel GED, TASC, HiSET Prep Program provides you with a full preparation course. This is the perfect course for Ohio residents who wish to prepare for the High School Equivalency Test in a stress-free way.

By following the Covcel HSE prep course, you will become GED fluent in a comfortable and highly structured way. The Covcel course includes numerous video lessons with transcripts that offer all you need to know in bite-size and easy-to-understand items. So get ready to pass the Ohio HSE test!

Ohio GED Testing Requirements

  • You don’t already hold a secondary education degree (HS diploma)
  • You are not engaged in any other school program
  • You must be least 16 years of age. Students 16 & 17 years old need parental consent and permission from their school board
  • There is no state residency requirement in Ohio

You are given two years to deal with the four GED subtests. Your tests scores are good for two years from the time of first registration.

The four GED tests are scored on a 100-200 scale.

  • Below Passing Score: 100-144
  • High School Equivalency Score: 145-164
  • College-Ready Score: 165-174
  • College-Ready plus Credit Score: 175-200

If you pass the four independent subtests (modules) of the GED exam or the non-independent five subtests of the HiSET or TASC exams, you will receive the Ohio High School Equivalency Diploma. This credential is equivalent to a common high school diploma and accepted as such by virtually all North American educational institutions and employers.

All across Ohio, there are numerous facilities that offer HSE prep classes where you have the chance to become perfectly prepared to take the four GED subtests or the five HiSET or TASC tests successfully.

Today, you can also find some well-structured online GED-TASC-HiSET prep courses that you can use to get all set from the comfort of your house or from wherever there is an internet connection. Keep in mind that you can NOT take the HSE tests over the internet.

That’s just not possible. You are required to appear at one of Ohio’s official HSE test centers in person.

The GED (General Education Development) exam includes four individual subtests, or modules, that have to be completed within a two-year time frame. The GED tests are administered entirely on a computer. The four GED modules cover the academic fields of Social Studies, Mathematical Reasoning (Math), Science, and Literacy (Reasoning through Language Arts).

The HiSET and TASC come with five tests as the part Literacy contains individual reading and writing tests. The TASC and HiSET tests cannot be taken separatelyThis only counts for the GED exam! The HSE program gives students who were not in the position to complete their regular high school curriculum the chance to acquire the High School Equivalency Diploma.

The latest edition of the GED exam (2014-Series) includes four subject areas: science, literacy (writing and reading combined), social studies, and math. The HSE degree is very well applicable for college degree purposes and career development.

The GED exam is totally computer-based which, in a way, is pretty logical as all contemporary job openings will require at least basic computer and keyboarding skills. You just can’t do without anymore!

In Ohio, there is no requirement to first take a prep course, but it is strongly advised though, to get optimally prepared by attending a prep class or signing up for a good online course. The three HSE exams (GED, HiSET, and TASC) are really challenging so proper preparation is crucial! To sit for one of the HSE exams, you must show up at an official Ohio HSE testing center in person. Online HSE testing is not an option